Trawden Forest Parish Council
Trawden Forest Parish Council

All About the Parish Council, its Councillors and how to contact us.


Parish Councillors

Councillors have an active interest and concern for their local community. They represent local people and work in partnership with them and others when necessary. They help facilitate the provision of local services and facilities and take decisions that form the policy of the Council.
Councillors are not paid and have to abide by a local government code of conduct and declare their financial interests in the parish. Councillors must also declare a personal or prejudicial interest in any matter under discussion at a parish council meetings.

If you need to contact the Parish Council.

The Parish Council's first point of contact should be the Councillor who is local to your area. 


Councillors for Trawden are: Barry Hodgson, Beverley Robinson, Emma-Jane MacDonald, David Barritt, Ann Holmes and Philippa Osborne.

Councillors for Cotton Tree, Winewall and Wycoller are: Andrea Beswick, Eleanor Jolley, Malcom Pate and Jonathan Wiggins. For their contact email addresses, please see below.


The Clerk is available during the published working hours (Mon-Wed 9am-3pm, Thurs 9am-1pm), via telephone on 07496 041676, or email at, and is always happy to help. Please be aware that the Clerk works part time and will not always be able to answer your queries immediately.


The Clerk is based in the wooden cabin structure that is located to the rear of the Community library and shop, Church Street, Trawden.  Please try to call first to ensure the Clerk is available to see you. 

Whilst works are still being carried out, the office is not disabled friendly accessible, but there is space within the library where we can meet you. 

If you are coming into the office, please enter the shop, and bear left into the library.  Follow through to the rear door, and exit into the secure gargen area.  Exit via the open gate, and the cabin is direclty in front of you.  I can always meet you in the library, should you wish to be accompanied to the office.

Contact details for the Parish Councillors:


Cllr Barry Hodgson - Chairman



Cllr Barry Hodgson -

Cllr Emma-Jane MacDonald -

Cllr David Barritt -

Cllr Ann Holmes -

Cllr Mark Watts -

Cllr Philippa Osborne -


Winewall/Wycoller & Cotton Tree

Cllr Andrea Beswick -

Cllr Eleanor Jolley -

Cllr Malcolm Pate - 

Cllr Jonathan Wiggins -


If you would like to contact any of the Councillors, please either email them direct, or use the 'Contact Form' and your query will be dealt with.


To contact the Clerk, please email: or call 07496 041676

Borough and County Councillors


If you need to contact either our Ward, or County Councillors, you can do so by emailing them as below:

Ward Councillors

Cllr Sarah Cockburn-Price Tel 07791 412210

Cllr David Cockburn-Price Tel 07801 468303

Cllr Kevin Salter             Tel 07726 264117

County Councillors

Cllr Jenny Purcell         

Cllr Mike Goulthorp     

Committee, Sub Committee and Working Group Members


Where to find other information


If you have issues with the highway (ie potholes, blocked drains etc), you can report these online via the Lancashire County Council website.


If you have an issue with bins that need emptying, this can be reported via the Pendle Council website. refuse


If you have spotted someone who is not picking up their dog fouling, this can be reported via the Pendle Council website.


And, as always, if there has been a crime of any sort, this MUST be reported direct to the Police via their 101 line, or their online reporting system.



If it is an emergency, always call 999.

Thank you for your cooperation.



For the list of Duties and Powers that a Parish Council can legally carry out, please see the document below:

Powers and duties of local councils.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [140.8 KB]

Additional Parish Council Responsibilities

As well as the Statutory responsibilities that the Parish Council provide, some services have been transferred from Pendle Borough Council to the Parish Council.  If the Parish Council did not take on these services, they would have disappeared.  These Services are:

* Bus Shelters

* Lanehouse Lane Playground

* Roadside Seating

* Some grassed areas which require mowing.  These are located at: Rear of the bus termins, Bannister Close, Both sides of the old Post Office at Cotton Tree, small area to the rear of the Millennium Garden, Lane House Lane Playground, Harambee Surgery

* The parking area to the side of the Victorian Toilet

* Most of the Parking area across from Weavers Court

* The whole length of the Tram Tracks from Church Street to, and including, the bus terminus

* Maintenance costs for Ball Grove - although the Parish Council is looking at taking ownership of our proportion of the Park.

* Trawden in Bloom

There are obviously costs attached to these services, hence your the precept part of your Council tax, is the way the Parish Council raises most of its revenue.

We also pay for the Christmas Tree at the Community Centre, the star at the Church and the star at Winewall


Planning Applications

The Parish Council plays an active part in all local planning issues. It is probably the area of the Council's role that is best known to the community and which can be of the most importance.

Click here to go to the Local Council Planning Portal and enter the planning refrence number into the text based search system to show the application.



Ball Grove Website

Ball Grove have a new website.  Why not take a look?  There's lot of information and some fabulous photo's on there.  The link is

Remembrance Day 2020

Remembrance Day in Church footage 2020
As we are unable to hold the Service in Church for Remembrance Day this year, the Service has been pre-recorded so that it is available for all at 10.40am on 8th November 2020. The footage will remain so that it can be viewed by anyone at any time.
Thank you to each and every one of you for viewing this and special thanks to Rev John Knott, Sheila Walker, William Walker, Paul Wilson and Lisa Burnham for allowing us to work together to produce something collectively for this day.
MP4 video/audio file [83.9 MB]
This is the footage of the 2 minutes silence, last post and wreath laying at the War Memorial on 8th November 2020. Thank you to those who attended and observed the social distancing guidance.
Remembrance Day 2020.docx
Microsoft Word document [188.0 KB]
Print | Sitemap
© TrawdenParishCouncil